Hikes for loners

and independent types

Map

In short:

Maps:

Links (click on flag):

Cabane de l'A Neuve

This hike is featured in the book

Randonnées pour Grizzlys

Alpes valaisannes

published in 2013 by the editor Slatkine. Livre 'Randonnées pour Grizzlys - Alpes valaisannes'

The book can be ordered online at the Slatkine website or bought in any good bookstore of French-speaking Switzerland

With 153 buildings of various sizes and shapes throughout the Swiss Alps, from the bleakest to the new high-tech and more welcoming, the Swiss Alpine Club mountain huts are very popular walking destinations. I myself have enjoyed visiting a great many over the years but am rather reluctant to recommend them in this book. Over the last few years a pattern has begun to emerge and mountain huts are tending to get bigger and bigger in order to accommodate more and more people in an ever more comfortable setting. Opinions differ as to the merits of this tendency. Whatever the case, old-style mountain huts where the quality of the welcome is considered more important than the number of people that can be accommodated, are harder and harder to find. And, ultimately, this is the kind of hut that we loners appreciate.

The Cabane de l’A Neuve is unquestionably an old-style mountain hut. First opened in 1927, its stone walls seem resolutely unalterable. The hut sits on a spectacular rocky spur and looks out over the peaceful Ferret valley. Opposite it rises Mont Dolent on the summit of which meet the Swiss, French and Italian borders. As if to match up to the remarkable setting, the keepers of this eagle's nest have always been known for their strength of character. And even its beauty has long ceased to be a secret, this mountain hut is still one of my favorites.

From the village of La Fouly, cross the small bridge over the Dranse de Ferret which runs down along the road, and walk to and then through the Glaciers campsite. A signs shows the way up towards the hut and a walking time of 3½ hours. The path leads up through a fairy tale pine forest. It's delightful to feel your steps cushioned by the soft layer of moss and pine needles, like a Finnish forest track relocated in the Valais Alps! Leaving the forest behind you, the path now heads up between bushes over particularly arid ground wisely named Le Désert [1660 m, 15 min].

Crossing underneath Pierre Javelle
1 - Crossing underneath Pierre Javelle
Cabane de l'A Neuve
2 - Cabane de l'A Neuve
Mont Dolent, Aiguille de l'Amône
3 - Mont Dolent, Aiguille de l'Amône
Mont Dolent (3820m, 12533ft)
4 - Mont Dolent (3820m, 12533ft)

The bushes become smaller and sparser and then the path gets steeper and climbs a series of hairpins and draws nearer to the Reuse de l'A Âmone stream and a rocky outcrop [approx. 1975 m, 1h20min]. Chains hang alongside the path to help you clamber up the smooth slabs. Alternatively, a path to the left can be used to avoid climbing the rock. However, because the path lies on the loose moraine of the A Neuve glacier, its usability varies from year to year.

At the top of the rocky outcrop, the path crosses the stream just above the waterfall. It can be difficult to cross at the beginning of the summer if there is still a lot of snow around. The small footbridge is taken away in the winter and sometimes means walkers have to cross on the snow bridge above the water. This is potentially dangerous and it is best to turn back if you are not sure. This was the case for me on one occasion when the walking season started early after a winter with little snow. I still much enjoyed the outing and was entirely captivated by the terrible roars made by the avalanches as they pounded down the mountainside opposite. Mont Dolent is "only" 3828 meters high but its North face is as impressive as that of many of the Alpine four-thousanders.

At the hut, a nice terrace to relax
5 - At the hut, a nice terrace to relax

One the stream crossed, the path starts up the long but easy climb over the grassy Essettes slopes, a haven for marmots and blueberry lovers. Soon you will be able to make out the flag on the cliff next to the hut, and the hut itself. Towards the end of the climb, the grassy slopes give way to sterile rocky scree, with possibly some remaining patches of snow. A little below the hut, towards 2700 m, the path heads left away from the hut before turning back right to head for the head. There are two options for the very final portion, either the "directissima" an easy climb up a rock crevice (hands needed, chains) or a more round trip along a path through the boulders.

The pretty graffiti foretells the friendly welcome that typically awaits you at the Cabane de l’A Neuve [2735 m, 3½ hours]. Maybe you will be lucky enough to spot a bearded vulture taking flight from the cliffs below the Pointes des Six Niers. It's great to enjoy a long break on the panoramic terrace because, as indicated on the sign on the wall of the hut, the descent back down to La Fouly is short and only takes about 2 hours. Indeed, it's a steep, steady descent with no flat time-consuming portions. Walking poles can be useful for the lower part of the descent where the risk of slipping is increased due to the dry, unstable moraine ground.

Every time I have visited the Cabane de l’A Neuve, I have had a pleasant surprise: an abundance of blueberries, sighting the bearded vultures or watching the avalanches tearing down from Mont Dolent. I hope you will enjoy it as much as me!

Previous Next

Randonnées pour grizzlys

et autres animaux solitaires

Carte

En résumé:

Cartes:

Liens (cliquer sur le drapeau):

Cabane de l'A Neuve

Cette randonnée figure dans le livre

Randonnées pour Grizzlys

Alpes valaisannes

paru en 2013 aux éditions Slatkine. Livre 'Randonnées pour Grizzlys - Alpes valaisannes'

Le livre peut être commandé en ligne sur le site de Slatkine ou acheté dans toute bonne librairie de Suisse Romande.

Avec 153 bâtiments des plus rustiques aux plus « high-tech » à travers les Alpes Suisses, les cabanes du CAS représentent des buts d’excursion très appréciés. L’auteur en a visité de nombreuses avec un grand plaisir, mais est réticent à les recommander dans le cadre de ce livre. Ces dernières années ont vu une tendance se dessiner : les cabanes s’agrandissent, prennent de l’embonpoint afin d’accueillir toujours plus de monde dans toujours plus de confort. On peut penser ce que l’on veut de cette évolution. Toujours est-il que les cabanes « à l’ancienne », celles où la qualité de l’accueil prime sur la quantité, sont devenues presque des anachronismes. Or, en fin de compte, seules celles-ci intéressent le grizzly.

La cabane de l’A Neuve est sans conteste une cabane « à l’ancienne ». Inaugurée en 1927, ses murs de pierre semblent immuables. Elle occupe un magnifique belvédère au fond du paisible Val Ferret. En face s'élève le Mont Dolent, au sommet duquel se recoupent les frontières suisse, française et italienne. Par mimétisme, ce nid d’aigle de caractère a toujours été gardienné par des personnages de caractère. Et même si sa beauté n’est plus un secret depuis longtemps, elle reste mon coup de cœur parmi les cabanes.

Du village de La Fouly, prendre le petit pont sur la Dranse de Ferret, en contrebas de la route, et traverser le camping des Glaciers. Un signe nous indique la direction de la cabane, à 3h30. On s'engage dans une idyllique forêt de conifères. Remarquez comme il est agréable de marcher sur ce tapis de mousses et d'aiguilles qui amortit chaque pas, comme une piste finlandaise revisitée par des valaisans ! Une fois la lisière atteinte, le sentier se met à monter au milieu d'arbustes, dans un terrain très aride judicieusement nommé le Désert [1660m, 15min].

Bifurcation en-dessous de Pierre Javelle
1 - Bifurcation en-dessous de Pierre Javelle
Cabane de l'A Neuve
2 - Cabane de l'A Neuve
Mont Dolent, Aiguille de l'Amône
3 - Mont Dolent, Aiguille de l'Amône
Mont Dolent (3820m, 12533ft)
4 - Mont Dolent (3820m, 12533ft)

Les buissons se rabougrissent et se raréfient. Le chemin entame une série de zigzags de plus en plus abrupts tout en se rapprochant de la rivière Reuse de l'A Amône et d'un piton rocheux [env. 1975m, 1h20min]. L'escalade de ses dalles lisses est facilitée par des chaînes. Il existe également un chemin qui contourne le rocher par la gauche. L’état de celui-ci varie beaucoup d’une année à l’autre, parce qu'il emprunte la moraine délitée du glacier de l'A Neuve.

Arrivé au sommet du piton, on traverse le torrent à l’aplomb de la cascade. En début de saison, s'il reste beaucoup de neige, cet endroit peut s'avérer délicat à franchir. L’absence de passerelle, démontée pour l'hiver, oblige à se risquer sur la couche de neige qui recouvre la rivière. C’est une configuration potentiellement dangereuse, et selon les cas il vaut mieux renoncer. Ainsi, après un hiver pauvre en neige qui invitait à des sorties précoces en haute montagne, la balade avait dû s’interrompre à cet endroit. Sans regret, tant le spectacle des avalanches dévalant en terribles grondements le versant opposé était captivant. Le Mont Dolent culmine à 3828 mètres mais sa face Nord vaut tous les "4000" des Alpes.

Jolie terrasse à la cabane
5 - Jolie terrasse à la cabane

Le torrent franchi, on entame une longue montée assez facile mais soutenue dans les pentes gazonnées des Essettes, paradis pour marmottes et amateurs de myrtilles. On peut bientôt distinguer le drapeau de la cabane planté sur la falaise, puis la cabane elle-même. Sur la toute fin de parcours, les gazons laissent place à un pierrier stérile, voire à quelques névés tardifs. Le sentier s'éloigne de la cabane jusqu'à arriver vers 2700m, soit quelques dizaines de mètres plus bas que son altitude. Puis il se dirige franchement vers elle, avec au final le choix entre la « direttissima », un passage d'escalade facile dans une anfractuosité du promontoire (chaînes), ou un contournement à travers des blocs.

Le joli graffiti de bienvenue augure de l’accueil sympathique offert à la cabane de l’A Neuve depuis des lustres [2735m, 3h30]. Peut-être aurez-vous la chance d’apercevoir des gypaètes s’élancer des falaises des Pointes des Six Niers. On peut s’octroyer une pause prolongée sur la terrasse panoramique, car le retour dans la vallée s’annonce court : 2 heures, à en croire le panneau apposé contre la façade de la cabane. Cela s’explique par l’absence de sections plates dans ce parcours à la pente régulière. Un bâton télescopique s'avère utile dans la partie inférieure de la descente, là où l'aridité et la nature morainique du terrain accroissent les risques de dérapage.

Lors de chaque visite à la cabane de l’A Neuve, à diverses périodes de l’année, une belle surprise m’y attendait : des myrtilles à profusion, des gypaètes planant sur les Essettes, des avalanches dévalant le Mont Dolent. J’espère qu’il en sera de même pour vous lecteur !

Précédent Suivant